You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - Attorney General of India

Attorney General of India Indian Constitution

Powers, Functions and List of Attorney General of India:

Appointment and Tenure:
1. The Attorney General of India is appointed by the President and holds office during the pleasure of the President.
2. He must have the same qualifications for appointment as required to be a Judge of the Supreme Court.
3. The Attorney General of India is the highest legal offcer of the Union Government.
Powers, privileges and functions:
The Attorney General of India is the first law officer of the Government of India and has the following powers, privileges and functions-
1. It is the duty of the Attorney General to give advice to the Government of India upon legal matters and to perform such other duties of legal character, as may, from time to time be referred or assigned to him by the President.
2. Attorney General should discharge the functions conferred on him by or under the Constitution or any other law for the time being in force.
3. In the performance of his duties he has the right of audience in all Courts in the territory of India.
4. The Attorney General can take part in the proceedings of the Parliament and its committees but he is not entitled to vote.
5. The Attorney General is assisted by two Solicitors-General and four Additional Solicitors-General.

List of Attorney General of India:

Name of Attorney GeneralTermIncumbent Prime Minister
M. C. Setalvad28.01.1950 - 01.03.1963Jawaharlal Nehru
C.K.Daphtary02.03.1963 - 30.10.1968Jawaharlal Nehru; Lal Bahadur Shastri
Niren De01.11.1968 - 31.03.1977Indira Gandhi
S.V. Gupte01.04.1977 - 08.08.1979Morarji Desai
L.N. Sinha09.08.1979 - 08.08.1983Indira Gandhi
K. Parasaran09.08.1983 - 08.12.1989Indira Gandhi; Rajiv Gandhi
Soli Sorabjee09.12.1989 - 02.12.1990V. P. Singh; Chandra Shekhar
G. Ramaswamy03.12.1990 - 23.11.1992Chandra Shekhar; P. V. Narasimha Rao
Milon K. Banerji21.11.1992 - 08.07.1996P. V. Narasimha Rao
Ashok Desai09.07.1996 - 06.04.1998H. D. Devegowda; Inder Kumar Gujral
Soli Sorabjee07.04.1998 - 04.06.2004Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Milon K. Banerji05.06.2004 - 07.06.2009Manmohan Singh
Goolam Essaji Vahanvati08.06.2009 to 11.06.2014Manmohan Singh
Mukul Rohatgi12.06.2014 to 18 June 2017Narendra Modi
K K Venugopal1 July 2017 to till dateNarendra Modi

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now

More Topics From Indian Constitution