You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - Election Commission of India

Election Commission of India:

Election Commission of India
1. Article 324 provides for a single Election Commission for the country.
2. The Election Commission of India is an autonomous, constitutionally established federal authority responsible for administering all the electoral processes in the Republic of India.
3. The Election Commission has the power of superintendence, direction and control of all elections to the Parliament of India and the state legislatures and of elections to the office of the President of India and the Vice-President of India.
4. The Election Commission was a single member body till 1989.
5. The Election Commission now consists of a Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and two Election Commissioners (EC), appointed by the President of India.
6. The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed from his office by Parliament with two-thirds majority in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha on the grounds of proven misbehaviour or incapacity.
7. Other Election Commissioners can be removed by the President on the recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner.
8. The Chief Election Commissioner and the two Election Commissioners draw salaries and allowances at par with those of the Judges of the Supreme Court of India.
9. The Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) is appointed for a term of six years or up to the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.
10. First Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of India was Sukumar Sen.

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now