You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - Indian States Created After 1950

Creation of New States in India after 1950 Indian Constitution

The States Reorganisation Act, 1956 was a major reform of the boundaries of India's states and territories, organising them along linguistic lines. The Act came into effect at the same time as the Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act, 1956, which (among other things) restructured the constitutional framework for India's existing states. The distinction among Part A, B, and C states was abolished. Details of States of India created after 1950 are given below:

Andhra Pradesh:Andhra Pradesh state was formed by merging Andhra with Telugu-speaking area of Hyderabad and carving out some areas from the State of Madras in 1956.
Arunachal Pradesh:Status of Arunachal Pradesh changed from Union Territory to State in 1987 by the State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, 1986.
Bombay:Bombay state formed by merging Kutch, the Marathi-speaking districts of Nagpur Division of Madhya Pradesh, and Saurashtra, and the Marathi speaking Marathwada region of Hyderabad. The State's southernmost districts of Bombay were transferred to Mysore State. In 1960, Bombay State was split into Maharashtra and Gujarat.
Chhattisgarh:Chattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh on November, 2000 as provided under Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act 2000. Sixteen districts of Madhya Pradesh was included in the Chhattisgarh State. Raipur became the Capital of Chhattisgarh.
Goa:Goa along with Daman and Diu was organized as a centrally administered Union Territory of India in 1961. On 30 May 1987 Goa was separated from the Union Territory of Goa, Daman and Diu and was made India's twenty-fifth state, with Daman and Diu remaining a Union Territory.
Himachal Pradesh: On 18 December 1970, the State of Himachal Pradesh Act was passed by Parliament and the new state came into being on 25 January 1971. Thus, Himachal Pradesh emerged as the eighteenth state of the Indian Union.
Haryana:Haryana was carved out from the State of Punjab by the Punjab Reorganisation Act, 1966.
Jharkhand:Jharkhand was carved out of Bihar on August, 2000 as provided under Bihar Reorganisation Bill 2000. Eighteen districts of Bihar was included in the Jharkhand State. Ranchi became the Capital of Jharkhand.
Karnataka:Kodagu and Kannada-speaking regions from the adjoining states of Madras, Hyderabad and Bombay were incorporated into the Mysore state, under the States Reorganization Act of 1956. The expanded state was renamed Karnataka in 1973.
Kerala:Kerala was created by the States Reorganization Act 1956 by merging most of Travancore- Cochin union and part of Madras.
Manipur and Tripura:Status of Manipur and Tripura was changed from Union Territories to States by the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971.
Meghalaya:By 23rd Constitutional Amendment Act, 1969, Meghalaya was carved out as a sub-State within the State of Assam. In 1971, the Parliament passed the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act, 1971, which conferred full statehood on the autonomous state of Meghalaya.
Mizoram:Status of Mizoram changed from Union Territory to State by the State of Mizoram Act, 1986.
Nagaland:Nagaland was carved out from the State of Assam and attained statehood with the enactment of the state of Nagaland Act in 1962. Kohima became the Capital of Nagaland.
Sikkim:By 35th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1974, Sikkim was made an 'Associate State'. It got the status of a full state in 1975 by the 36th Amendment Act, 1975.
Uttarakhand:Uttarakhand was carved out of Uttar Pradesh on August, 2000 as provided under Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2000. Thirteen districts of Uttar Pradesh was included in the Uttarakhand State. Dehradun became the Capital of Uttarakhand.

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now

More Topics From Indian Constitution