You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - Important Amendments of Indian Constitution

List of Important Amendments Indian Constitution

1st Amendment, 1951:
Provide for reasonable restriction on freedom of speech.
Ninth Schedule was inserted.
7th Amendment, 1956:
Reorganization of states on linguistic basis and introduction of Union Territories.
9th Amendment, 1960:
Amended the First Schedule of the Constitution to give effect transfer certain territories to Pakistan following agreement between India and Pakistan in 1958.
10th Amendment, 1961:
Incorporated former Portuguese possession of Dadra and Nagar Haveli within India as Union Territory.
11th Amendment, 1961:
Article 66 and 71 amended to provide that the elections of the President or the Vice-President could not be challenged on the ground of existence of any vacancies in the electoral college.
12th Amendment, 1962:
Incorporation of Goa, Daman and Diu as a Union Territory in the First Schedule of the Constitution, after acquisition from Portugal.
13th Amendment, 1962:
State of Nagaland formed with special protection under Article 371A.
14th Amendment, 1962:
Pondicherry incorporated into the Union of India.
21st Amendment, 1967:
Sindhi added as 15th Language in the Eight Schedule of the Constitution.
24th Amendment, 1971:
It remove all doubts about the power of the Parliament to amend any part of the Constitution including Fundamental Rights.
31st Amendment, 1973:
Increases the elective seat of the Lok Sabha from 525 to 545. The upper limit of representatives of the States goes up from 500 to 525 and that of the Union Territories decreases from 25 to 20.
36th Amendment, 1975:
Sikkim became the 22nd State of the Indian Union.
38th Amendment, 1975:
Declaration of Emergency by the President and the promulgation of Ordinances by the President, Governors and Administrative Heads of Union Territories would be final and could not be challenged in any court.
42nd Amendment, 1976:
Established supremacy of the Parliament.
The Directive Principle of State Policy given precedence over Fundamental Rights, in case of conflict.
It also added 10 Fundamental Duties of the Citizens.
The term of Lok Sabha and State Assemblies increased from 5 to 6 years.
The terms Socialist, Secular and Integrity were inserted in the Preamble.
No Constitutional Amendment could be questioned in any court of law.
42nd Amendment is also known as 'MINI CONSTITUTION'.
43rd Amendment, 1978:
Repealed the obnoxious provisions of the Constitution (42nd Amendment) Act passed during the Emergency. Restored the jurisdiction of Supreme Court and High Court to review any legislation in States.
44th Amendment, 1978:
Right to Property deleted from Part III and made Legal Right.
Article 352 was amended to provide Armed Rebellion as one of the circumstances for declaration of emergency.
52nd Amendment, 1985:
Anti-Defection Law : Disqualification of members from Parliament and Assembly in case of defection from one party to other.
61st Amendment, 1989:
Voting reduced from 21 to 18.
65th Amendment, 1990:
Amended article 338 to form National Commission for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes.
69th Amendment, 1991:
Delhi made Nationa Capital Territory, provides for a Legislative Assembly for the Union Territory of Delhi.
71st Amendment, 1992:
Eight Schedule of the Constitution amended to inlcude Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali.
73rd Amendment, 1993:
Introduction of Panchayati Raj. Part IX relating to Panchayats inserted in the Constitution to provide Gram Sabha, constitution of Panchayats at village and other levels etc.
74th Amendments, 1993:
Addition of new Part IX - A relating to introduction of Nagarpalikas, Municipal Councils and Municipal Corporations.
86th Amendment, 2002:
Provides for free and compulsory education to children between 6 and 14 years and early childhood care and education for all children until they complete the age of six years. Also known as Right to Education.
92nd Amendment, 2004:
Bodo, Dogri, Santhali and Maithili added to Eight Schedule and made National Language.

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now

More Topics From Indian Constitution