You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - President of India

President of India: Election, Eligibility, Salary, Powers Indian Constitution

Election of the President:
1. The President is elected by electoral college consisting of-
(i) the elected members of both Houses of Parliament, and
(ii) the elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of the State.[Article 54]
(States include the National Capital Territory of Delhi and the Union Territory of Pondicherry)
2. The election of the President shall be held in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote and the voting at such election shall be by secret ballot.
3. There shall be uniformity in the scale of representation of the different states at the election of the President.[Article 55]
Tenure of the President:
The President holds office for a term of five years from the date on which he enters upon his office, provided that-
1. the President may, by writing under his hand addressed to the Vice-President, resign his office;
2. the President may, for violation of Constitution be removed from office by impeachment in the manner provided in Article 61;
3. the President shall, notwithstanding the expiration of his term, continue to hold office untill his successor enters upon his office.
Any resignation addressed to the Vice-president shall forwith be communicated by him to the Speaker of the House of the People (Lok Sabha).[Article 56]
4. The oath of office to the President is administered by the Chief Justice of India and in his absence, by the senior most judge of the Supreme Court available.
5. An election should be held to fill the vacancy of Presidential post before the expiration of President’s term.[Article 62(1)]
6. When a vacancy occurs in the Presidents office due to his death, resignation or removal or otherwise, the Vice-president acts as the President until a new President is elected.
7. An election to fill such vacancy should be held within six months from the date of occurrence of such vacancy.
8. A person can be re-elected to the post of the President.
No person shall be eligible for election as President unless he-
1. is a citizen of India,
2. has completed the age of thirty five years,
3. is qualified for election as a member of the House of the People, and
4. must not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said Government.[Article 58]
The President shall not be member of either House of Parliament or a House of the Legislature of any State.[Article 59]
1. The President is entitled to such salary, allowances and privileges as may be determined by Parliament by law.
2. He is entitled to use his official residences as free of rent.
3. His salary and allowances are charged on the Consolidated Fund of India.
4. The salary and allowances of the President shall not be diminished during his term of office.
1. President may be impeached from his office for violation of the Constitution.
2. Either Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha may prefer impeachment charges and a 14 days written notice may be given signed by not less than one-fourth of the total membership of the House.
3. The resolution of the charges for impeachment of the President should be passed by at least two-thirds of the total membership of the House.
4. If after investigation of the charge it is declared that the charge preferred against the President has been sustained, such resolution shall have the effect of removing the President from his office from the date on which such resolution is passed.
Protection given to the President of India:
The following protection is given to the President of India-
1. He is not answerable to any court for the exercise and performance of the powers and duties of his office or for any act done or purporting to be done by him in the exercise and performance of those powers and duties:
Provided that his conduct may be brought under review by any court, tribunal or body appointed or designated by either House of Parliament for the investigation of a charge under Article 61.
2. No criminal proceedings whatsoever can be instituted or continued against him in any court during his term of office.
3. No process for arrest or imprisonment shall issue from any court during his term of office.
4. No civil proceedings in which relief is claimed against him can be instituted during his term of office in any court in respect of any act done or purporting to be done by him in his personal capacity whether before or after he entered upon his office as President, until the expiration of two months next after notice in writing has been delivered to him.[Article 361]

List of President of India and their term-

Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963)26 January 1950 to 13 May 1962
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975)13 May 1962 TO 13 May 1967
Dr. Zakir Husain (1897-1969)13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969
Shri Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894-1980)3 May 1969 to 20 July 1969 and
24 August 1969 TO 24 August 1974
Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1905-1977)24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977
Shri Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1913-1996)25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982
Giani Zail Singh (1916-1994)25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987
Shri R Venkataraman (1910-2009)25 July 1987 to 25 July 1992
Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918-1999)25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997
Shri K. R. Narayanan (1920 - 2005)25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002
DR. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam (born - 1931)25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007
Smt Pratibha Devisingh Patil (b - 1934)25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012
Pranab Mukherjee25 July 2012 to 25 July 2017
Ram Nath Kovind25 July 2017 to till date

Objective Questions on President of India - Eligibility, Election, etc. frequently asked in SSC, CDS, NDA, PSC, Railways and other competitive examinations-

1. The vacancy of the office of the President of India must be filled within?
(a) 1 month
(b) 3 month
(c) 6 month
(d) 12month

2. The Fundamental Rights can be suspended by the?
(a) Governor
(b) President
(c) Chief Justice of India
(d) Parliament

3. Indian Parliament means?
(a) Rajya Sabha - Lok Sabha - Prime Minister
(b) President of India - Vice-President of India - Lok Sabha - Rajya Sabha
(c) President of India - Lok Sabha - Rajya Sabha
(d) Rajya Sabha - Lok Sabha

4. Which of the following is not an eligibility for election as President of India?
(a) Should be citizen of India
(b) Is qualified for election as a member of the House of the People
(c) Must not hold any office of profit
(d) Must have completed the age of twenty-five years

5. The method of impeachment of President of India is adopted from?
(a) USA
(b) France
(c) UK
(d) USSR

6. If the Anglo Indian Community does not get adequate representation in the Lok Sabha, two members of the community can be nominated by the?
(a) Prime Minister of India
(b) President of India
(c) Speaker of Lok Sabha
(d) Chief Justice of India

7. To fulfill the eligibility for election of President of India, a citizen of India should have completed the age of?
(a) 18 years
(b) 25 years
(c) 30 years
(d) 35 years

8. A Presidential Ordinance can remain in force?
(a) for 3 months
(b) for 6 months
(c) for 9 months
(d) for 1 year

9. The President of India hold office for a term of?
(a) 3 years
(b) 4 years
(c) 5 years
(d) 6 years

10. What is the maximum age prescribed as eligibility for election as President of India?
(a) 58 years
(b) 60 years
(c) 62 years
(d) No such limits

Answers - 1(c), 2(b), 3(c), 4(d), 5(a), 6(b), 7(d), 8(b), 9(c) and 10(d).

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now

More Topics From Indian Constitution