You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - List of Maharatna, Navratna and Miniratna CPSEs

List of Maharatna, Navratna and Miniratna CPSEs

Indian PSU companies are divided into three categories-

  • Maharatna CPSEs - Maharatna Scheme was introduced for Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSEs), with effect from 19th May, 2010, in order to empower mega CPSEs to expand their operations and emerge as global giants.
  • Navratna CPSEs - Navratna was the title given originally to nine Public Sector Enterprises (PSEs), identified by the Government of India in 1997 as having comparative advantages, which allowed them greater autonomy to compete in the global market.
  • Miniratna CPSEs - Category I and Category - II

There are currently 7 Maharatnas, 14 Navratnas and 54 Miniratnas-I and 14 Miniratna-II.

Major criteria of awarding the status of Maharatna, Navratna and Miniratna are:
(1) Maharatna -

  • Having Navratna status
  • Listed on Indian stock exchange with minimum prescribed public shareholding under SEBI regulations
  • Three years with an annual net profit of over Rs. 5000 crore
  • Average annual Net worth of Rs. 15,000 crore for 3 years
  • Average annual Turnover of Rs. 25,000 crore for 3 years
  • Should have significant global presence/international operations
(2) Navratna -
  • A score of 60 (out of 100), based on six parameters which include net profit, net worth, total manpower cost, total cost of production, cost of services, PBDIT (Profit Before Depreciation, Interest and Taxes), capital employed, etc.
  • A company must first be a Miniratna and have 4 independent directors on its board before it can be made a Navratna.
(3) Miniratna Category-I -
  • Have made profits continuously for the last three years or earned a net profit of Rs. 30 crore or more in one of the three years.
(4) Miniratna Category-II -
  • Have made profits for the last three years continuously and should have a positive net worth.

List of Maharatna, Navratna and Miniratna CPSEs

(as on December, 2013)

Maharatna CPSEs

  1. Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited
  2. Coal India Limited
  3. GAIL (India) Limited
  4. Indian Oil Corporation Limited
  5. NTPC Limited
  6. Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Limited
  7. Steel Authority of India Limited

Navratna CPSEs

  1. Bharat Electronics Limited
  2. Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited
  3. Hindustan Aeronautics Limited
  4. Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited
  5. Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited
  6. National Aluminium Company Limited
  7. NMDC Limited
  8. Neyveli Lignite Corporation Limited
  9. Oil India Limited
  10. Power Finance Corporation Limited
  11. Power Grid Corporation of India Limited
  12. Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited
  13. Rural Electrification Corporation Limited
  14. Shipping Corporation of India Limited

Miniratna Category - I CPSEs

  1. Airports Authority of India
  2. Antrix Corporation Limited
  3. Balmer Lawrie & Co. Limited
  4. Bharat Dynamics Limited
  5. BEML Limited
  6. Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited
  7. Bridge & Roof Company (India) Limited
  8. Central Warehousing Corporation
  9. Central Coalfields Limited
  10. Chennai Petroleum Corporation Limited
  11. Cochin Shipyard Limited
  12. Container Corporation of India Limited
  13. Dredging Corporation of India Limited
  14. Engineers India Limited
  15. Ennore Port Limited
  16. Garden Reach Shipbuilders & Engineers Limited
  17. Goa Shipyard Limited
  18. Hindustan Copper Limited
  19. HLL Lifecare Limited
  20. Hindustan Newsprint Limited
  21. Hindustan Paper Corporation Limited
  22. Housing & Urban Development Corporation Limited
  23. India Tourism Development Corporation Limited
  24. Indian Railway Catering & Tourism Corporation Limited
  25. IRCON International Limited
  26. KIOCL Limited
  27. Mazagaon Dock Limited
  28. Mahanadi Coalfields Limited
  29. Manganese Ore (India) Limited
  30. Mangalore Refinery & Petrochemical Limited
  31. Mishra Dhatu Nigam Limited
  32. MMTC Limited
  33. MSTC Limited
  34. National Buildings Construction Corporation Limited
  35. National Fertilizers Limited
  36. National Seeds Corporation Limited
  37. NHPC Limited
  38. Northern Coalfields Limited
  39. North Eastern Electric Power Corporation Limited
  40. Numaligarh Refinery Limited
  41. ONGC Videsh Limited
  42. Pawan Hans Helicopters Limited
  43. Projects & Development India Limited
  44. Railtel Corporation of India Limited
  45. Rashtriya Chemicals & Fertilizers Limited
  46. RITES Limited
  47. SJVN Limited
  48. Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited
  49. South Eastern Coalfields Limited
  50. State Trading Corporation of India Limited
  51. Telecommunications Consultants India Limited
  52. THDC India Limited
  53. Western Coalfields Limited
  54. WAPCOS Limited

Miniratna Category-II CPSEs

  1. Bharat Pumps & Compressors Limited
  2. Broadcast Engineering Consultants (I) Limited
  3. Central Mine Planning & Design Institute Limited
  4. Central Railside Warehouse Company Limited
  5. Ed.CIL (India) Limited
  6. Engineering Projects (India) Limited
  7. FCI Aravali Gypsum & Minerals India Limited
  8. Ferro Scrap Nigam Limited
  9. HMT (International) Limited
  10. HSCC (India) Limited
  11. India Trade Promotion Organisation
  12. Indian Medicines & Pharmaceuticals Corporation Limited
  13. M E C O N Limited
  14. Mineral Exploration Corporation Limited
  15. National Film Development Corporation Limited
  16. National Small Industries Corporation Limited
  17. P E C Limited
  18. Rajasthan Electronics & Instruments Limited
Questions on Maharatna, Navratna and Miniratna Companies frequently asked in SSC, CDS, NDA, PSC, Railways and other competitive examinations-
1. Which of the following is a Maharatna Company?
(a) Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited
(b) Bharat Electronics Limited
(c) Oil India Limited
(d) Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited

2. Bharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL) is a
(a) Maharatna company
(b) Navratna company
(c) Miniratna Category-I company
(d) Miniratna Category-II company

3. Power Grid Corporation of India Limited is a
(a) Maharatna company
(b) Navratna company
(c) Miniratna Category-I company
(d) Miniratna Category-II company

4. Steel Authority of India Limited is a
(a) Maharatna company
(b) Navratna company
(c) Miniratna Category-I company
(d) Miniratna Category-II company

5. How many companies in India were granted the status of Maharatna?
(a) 5
(b) 6
(c) 7
(d) 8

Answers - 1(a), 2(c), 3(b), 4(a) and 5(c).