You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - Geography : World Heritage Sites in India

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in India:

There are 30 World Heritage Sites in India that are recognized by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as of 2013. These are places of importance of cultural or natural heritage. Of these 30 sites, 24 are cultural sites and the other 6 are natural sites.

Cultural World Heritage Sites in India:

Name of the SiteLocation
Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh GayaBihar
Humayun's TombNew Delhi
Qutub Minar and its MonumentsNew Delhi
Red Fort ComplexNew Delhi
Churches and Convents of GoaGoa
Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological ParkPanchmahal, Gujarat
Group of Monuments at HampiKarnataka
Group of Monuments at PattadakalKarnataka
Buddhist Monuments at SanchiMadhya Pradesh
Rock Shelters of BhimbetkaMadhya Pradesh
Khajuraho Group of MonumentsMadhya Pradesh
Ajanta CavesMaharashtra
Ellora CavesMaharashtra
Elephanta CavesMaharashtra
Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus)Maharashtra
Sun TempleKonark, Odisha
Jantar MantarJaipur, Rajasthan
Great Living Chola TemplesTamil Nadu
Group of Monuments at MahabalipuramTamil Nadu
Agra FortUttar Pradesh
Fatehpur SikriUttar Pradesh
Taj MahalUttar Pradesh
Mountain Railways of IndiaDarjeeling, Ooty and Shimla
Hill Forts of RajasthanRajasthan

Natural World Heritage Sites in India:

Name of the SiteLocation
Kaziranga Wild Life SanctuaryAssam
Manas Wild Life SanctuaryAssam
Keoladeo National ParkBharatpur, Rajasthan
Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National ParksChamoli, Uttarakhand
Sundarbans National ParkWest Bengal
Western GhatsKerala, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra

Create Your Own Website at Bluehost. Check It Now

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now