You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - History of World Cup Cricket

History of World Cup Cricket-

YearName of CupVenueNo. of CountryWinnerRunner-upMan of the Match
1975Prudential CupEngland.8West IndiesAustraliaClive Lloyd
1979Prudential CupEngland.8West IndiesEngland.Vivian Richards
1983Prudential CupEngland.8IndiaWest IndiesMohinder Amarnath
1987Reliance CupIndia & Pakistan8AustraliaEngland.David Boon
1992Benson & Hedges CupAustralia & New-Zealand9PakistanEngland.Wasim Akram
1996Wills CupIndia, Pakistan & Sri Lanka12Sri LankaAustraliaAravinda Desilva
1999ICC CupEngland.12AustraliaPakistanShane Warne
2003ICC CupS. Africa, Zimbabwe & Kenya14AustraliaIndiaRickey Ponting
2007ICC CupW. Indies16AustraliaSri LankaAdam Gilchrist
2011ICC CupIndia, Sri Lanka & Bangladesh14IndiaSri LankaM. S. Dhoni
2015ICC CupAustralia & New-Zealand14AustraliaNew ZealandJames Faulkner
2019ICC Cup England and Wales10EnglandNew ZealandBen Stokes

Objective Questions on World Cup Cricket History frequently asked in SSC, CDS, NDA, PSC, Railways and other competitive examinations-
1. Who won the Cricket World Cup in 1979 by defeating England in the final?
(a) Australia
(b) India
(c) West Indies
(d) Pakistan

2. In the World Cup History which country has won Cricket World Cup maximum number of times?
(a) West Indies
(b) Australia
(c) India
(d) Pakistan

3. Whom did India defeated in the final to win the Cricket World Cup in 1983?
(a) Australia
(b) England
(c) West Indies
(d) Pakistan

4. Who won Man of the Match award in the final of the Cricket World Cup in 1983?
(a) Mohinder Amarnath
(b) Kapil Dev
(c) Sunil Gavaskar
(d) K. Srikanth

5. Which country host the Cricket World Cup in the year 1999?
(a) India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka
(b) Australia & New Zealand
(c) West Indies
(d) England

6. Who is the highest run scorer in a single Cricket World Cup?
(a) Ricky Ponting
(b) Adam Gilchrist
(c) Sachin Tendulkar
(d) M. S. Dhoni

7. In which year, overs in Cricket World Cup reduced to 50 from 60?
(a) 1986
(b) 1987
(c) 1988
(d) 1989

8. Which one of the following cricketers has represented two different countries in ICC Cricket World Cup?
(a) Kepler Wessels
(b) Gary Sobers
(c) Kevin Peterson
(d) Ian Botham

9. Who hold the record of taking 4 wickets in 4 consecutive balls in Cricket World Cup?
(a) Shane Warne
(b) Wasim Akram
(c) Chetan Sharma
(d) Lasith Malinga

10. Who set a world record in Cricket World Cup of hitting 6 sixes in an over against Netherlands spinner Dan Van Bunge?
(a) Jacques Kallis
(b) Herschelle Gibbs
(c) Yuvraj Singh
(d) Virender Sehwag

Answers - 1(c), 2(b), 3(c), 4(a), 5(d), 6(c), 7(b), 8(a), 9(d) and 10(b).

Create Your Own Website at Bluehost. Check It Now

Learn General Knowledge from our Android App on Google Playstore.

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC. Download Now