You are here: Home >> ToThePoint >> GK - Indian Olympic Medal Winners

Indian Olympic Medal Winners

Do you know when India participated in the Olympics for the first time?
It was in the year 1900 that India first participated at the Olympic Games with a lone athlete, Norman Pritchard who won two medals (both silver) in athletics. Initially Indian hockey team was very strong and dominant in Olympic competition. They won 11 medals in 12 Olympics held between 1920 and 1980. They won 6 successive gold medals from 1928 to 1956. Indian hockey team won their last gold medal in Moscow Olympics in 1980.
In terms of individual performances in the Olympics, 2012 was the best year for India. India bag 6 medals (2 silver and 4 bronze) in the London Olympics. Till date, Abhinav Bindra is the only Olympic gold medalist in India. In Beijing Olympic held in 2008, he won gold in Shooting event. The list of Olympic medallist for India are given below.

List of Olympic Medalist for India

Year (Venue)PersonMedalEvent
1900 (Paris)Norman PitchardSilver200 m dash
1900 (Paris)Norman PitchardSilver200 m hurdles
1952 (Helsinki)KD JadhavBronzeWrestling
1996 (Atlanta)Leandar PaesBronzeTennis
2000 (Sydney)Karnam MalleswariBronzeWeightlifting
2004 (Athens)Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreSilverShooting
2008 (Beijing)Abhinav BindraGoldShooting
2008 (Beijing)Sushil KumarBronzeWrestling
2008 (Beijing)Vijender KumarBronzeBoxing
2012 (London)Vijay KumarSilverShooting
2012 (London)Sushil KumarSilverWrestling
2012 (London)Yogeshwar DuttBronzeWrestling
2012 (London)Mary KomBronzeBoxing
2012 (London)Saina NehwalBronzeBadminton
2012 (London)Gagan NarangBronzeShooting
2016 (Rio de Janeiro)P.V. SindhuSilverBadminton
2016 (Rio de Janeiro)Sakshi MalikBronzeWrestling

Olympic Medals in Hockey for India

Year (Venue)Medal
1928 (Amsterdam)Gold
1932 (Los Angeles)Gold
1936 (Berlin)Gold
1948 (London)Gold
1952 (Helsinki)Gold
1956 (Melbourne)Gold
1960 (Rome)Silver
1964 (Tokyo)Gold
1968 (Mexico City)Bronze
1972 (Munich)Bronze
1980 (Moscow)Gold